Michelin Pilot Super Sport Review

1476 User Reviews

Leave review

2 Out Of 35

in High performance summer tires

10145781

Miles Reported

1476

User Reviews

Review summary

Our research concluded that the Michelin Pilot Super Sport rates highest in dry performance and is a tremendous all-around performance tire but lags in several critical factors compared to the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S. 

While the Michelin Pilot Super Sport still ranks highest in dry performance at top speeds, the 4 S has better wet performance, similar handling at low speeds, and better cold and warm grip. The PZero falls behind or ties the Super Sport in several categories but has better wet performance. 

Overall, the Michelin Pilot Super Sport still ranks highest in sheer dry performance at top speeds while retaining good tread life, making this a good tire for people who want both performance and everyday tires.

Pros

  • Best performance tire in its class
  • Decent tread life
  • Scores high in all categories for a performance tire
  • Cheapest of the compared tires

Cons

  • Not the best performance in wet
  • Tires don't grip the best until hot

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
95.02%
WET TRACTION
90.02%
Noise
86.05%
COMFORT
87.02%
TREAD LIFE
81.04%

1476

reviews

10145781

Miles Reported

Test Results

2nd of 3 tiresOE vs Aftermarket - Is the tire your vehicle came with always the best tire?

Full review →

Performance Metrics

LabelValueDifference to Test Winner
Dry Handling 72.1 s -0.24 (-0.33%)
Dry Braking 33.93 M -0.21 (-0.62%)
Wet Handling 46.35 s +0.87 (1.91%)
Wet Braking 29.16 M +1.65 (6%)

Subjective Ratings

LabelValueDifference to Test Winner
Subj. Comfort 8.5 Points -1.5 (-15%)

1st of 2 tiresMichelin Pilot Super Sport VS Continental Sport Contact 6

Full review →

2nd of 9 tires2017 Motor Mag UHP Tire Test

Full review →

6th of 9 tires2016 EVO Summer Performance Tire Test

Full review →

3rd of 6 tires2016 AutoBild UHP Summer Tire Test

Full review →

2nd of 7 tires2015 Auto Bild Performance Tire Test

Full review →

2nd of 7 tires2014 Auto Review Max Performance Tire Test

Full review →

4th of 9 tires2012 Sport Auto Summer Tire Test

Full review →

1st of 7 tires2011 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tire Test

Full review →

6th of 9 tires2011 Autoreview Max Performance Summer Tire Test

Full review →

Alternatives

 

Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Michelin Pilot Sport 4S

Continental ExtremeContact Sport

Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

General G-Max RS

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 9.59.69.06.68.9
Wet Traction 9.08.98.76.58.6
Noise 8.68.78.66.48.3
comfort 8.78.88.66.28.4
Tread Life 8.18.37.95.98.2
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Stan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/27/2018

I had the Pilot Sport tires on my car when I bought it and they were great in dry and wet conditions. The new Pilot Super Sport tires that I recently got are even better - they're quieter and more responsive than the previous generation.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Matt

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/24/2019

I recently acquired a 2016 Audi A5 convertible on lease and noticed that it had Nitto tires which were making my car quite bumpy. The drive back home was not as pleasant as I thought it would be. The tires were so hard that they felt like rocks. I checked the tire pressure and they were over 40 psi - the store where the previous owner got them from had read the pressure on the door but that was only for maximum vehicle load with four people and luggage in the car. After some research, I decided to use the chalk method to adjust the tire pressure and it made a huge difference. The tires were now at 30/31 psi and the full tread was being utilized. The sidewalls also flexed, making the ride much smoother on both highway and city roads. I was extremely impressed with how well the tires handled sharp corners and high-speed sweepers. Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase and will definitely buy them again in the future.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Cory

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/08/2019

These tires are perfect for AWD vehicles and have a lifespan of around 25000-30000 miles. This is actually my second time purchasing them due to their exceptional performance in any type of weather. Additionally, they handle high-speed turns without any slipping or squealing.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Tom

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

10/19/2018

Ideal for both street and drag racing.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
5000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Mark

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/04/2021

The tires function smoothly on both wet and dry surfaces and provide excellent grip on the road.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
27000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Mark

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/04/2021

The tires function smoothly on both wet and dry surfaces and provide excellent grip on the road.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
27000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Matt

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/24/2019

I recently acquired a 2016 Audi A5 convertible on lease and noticed that it had Nitto tires which were making my car quite bumpy. The drive back home was not as pleasant as I thought it would be. The tires were so hard that they felt like rocks. I checked the tire pressure and they were over 40 psi - the store where the previous owner got them from had read the pressure on the door but that was only for maximum vehicle load with four people and luggage in the car. After some research, I decided to use the chalk method to adjust the tire pressure and it made a huge difference. The tires were now at 30/31 psi and the full tread was being utilized. The sidewalls also flexed, making the ride much smoother on both highway and city roads. I was extremely impressed with how well the tires handled sharp corners and high-speed sweepers. Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase and will definitely buy them again in the future.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Cory

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/08/2019

These tires are perfect for AWD vehicles and have a lifespan of around 25000-30000 miles. This is actually my second time purchasing them due to their exceptional performance in any type of weather. Additionally, they handle high-speed turns without any slipping or squealing.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Tom

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

10/19/2018

Ideal for both street and drag racing.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
5000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Stan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/27/2018

I had the Pilot Sport tires on my car when I bought it and they were great in dry and wet conditions. The new Pilot Super Sport tires that I recently got are even better - they're quieter and more responsive than the previous generation.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Michelin Pilot Super Sport

2 Out Of 35

in High performance summer tires

10145781

Miles Reported

1476

User Reviews

Full review

This is a review of the Michelin Pilot Super Sport tires. We have researched tests from tire experts and compared the Pilot Super Sport to several similar tires from competing brands and Michelin, including the 4 S and PZero. User reviews were also taken into consideration.

Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed.

We will now cover how we came to these conclusions, closely compare the Michelin Pilot Super Sport with similar tires in its class, and cover its performance and handling in more detail.

Read on if you want to learn more about how the Michelin Pilot Super Sport ranks compared to other tires, including their prices.

Overview

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport was designed with pure performance in mind. The Super Sport improves over its predecessor, the Michelin Pilot Sport 2, in both performance and tread life, making this tire suitable for street use with the occasional on-track performance and handling and remains the best in summer max performance. User reviews and tests all agree that the Super Sport is the premier performance tire on the market today.

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a high-end summer performance tire for performance cars like BMWs, Ferraris, or Porsches. It was designed with long-distance performance in mind, so improves upon the durability of its predecessor and remains one of the most durable performance tires on the market. It’s for car-lovers who want a good performance tire they can use on tracks, while retaining street usability.

While this tire’s price is reasonable for it’s high-end nature, those who want a budget performance tire best look elsewhere.

If you are more concerned about performance in the wet or lower temperatures, this is not the tire for you. The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a summer performance tire, and does not do well in inclement weather.

Performance

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport leaves nothing to be desired in dry performance, while its wet performance lacks.

Wet Performance

This is where the Michelin Pilot Super Sports lags behind its competitors. While the Super Sports still delivers outstanding wet performance, the Pirelli PZero edges it out. According to user reviews, the Super Sport does better when it’s really wet rather than just damp, so the performance may vary depending on the weather. According to TireRack.com, the 4 S also delivers better wet performance than the Super Sports, with better braking distance, handling, and grip.

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport still has excellent wet performance compared to its predecessor and other summer performance tires.

Something to keep in mind is that this is wet handling in summer performance tires, so their grip and performance in the wet won’t compare to all-season tires.

Dry Performance

This is where the Super Sport shines. It has consistently outperformed tires in not only its own class but against the 4 S and Pilot Sport 4 as well. It’s unmatched when it comes to feedback and handling on dry pavement. What it lacks in wet and lower temperature performance goes that extra mile here. This tire was made for you if you are looking to push the limits on a hot summer day.

It scores better in handling, feedback, and road feel against other tires, making this tire the best dry performance. If you want a sheer dry performance tire, this is for you. In the same test, however, it was edged out in braking distance by the Pirelli PZero.

Handling

The handling depends on the condition of the roads. Driving in dry, warm weather, you get great feedback and feel from these tires. However, you get less feedback in the wet and cold conditions. User reviews on Tyrereviews.com tell that those living in damp, cool areas prefer other performance tires to this one. It’s still rated relatively high in both of these categories in the wet. However, it falls short of the 4 S and PZero tires, making these a fair-weather tire best suited for warm, dry areas.

Noise and Comfort

The Super Sports are a performance tire, and while they perform highly for both of these categories, other tires surpass it, such as the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the highest-rated of high-performance tires, in comfort and noise, although it lags in other areas.

Durability

These tires took a massive leap in durability in their generation. The Super Sport has a six-year, 30,000-mile warranty. Its leap in durability makes it viable as a high-performance street tire.

Compared to similar tires, even the 4 S and PZero don’t compete. User reviews state that the 4 S wears faster than the Super Sport, and the PZero offers no such guarantees and warranties with their tires, making these some of the most durable summer performance tires on the market.

Price

The Michelin Super Sport tires are on par with the rest of their class. While the exact pricing may differ between sizes, it matches up surprisingly well, compared on discounttire.com. They are certainly cheaper than PZeros and about the same as the 4 S. The tires average around 300 dollars, which isn’t bad considering their performance. If price is a significant factor for you, you may want to go with one of the underperformers instead.

Recommendations & Conclusions

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is the tire you want for pure performance while still suitable for street driving. It scores high in all categories and makes for a great summer performance tire.

If you face damp, cool conditions often, this isn’t the performance tire for you, but if you don’t, you may want to consider it for your performance cars like BMWs or Ferraris.

If you want better wet performance, you may want to go with Pirelli PZero or the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S. If noise and comfort are your biggest pet peeves, but you still want performance tires, you may want to look at Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Considering its best-in-class status, the Super Sports are reasonably priced; however, if you are still unsure, you can look at some of the underperformers to see if the prices are worth the trade-off in performance.

Conclusion

The Michelin Pilot Super Sports are for pure performance in dry conditions. And while they deliver that performance while having outstanding durability, they are outperformed in wet conditions by the Pirelli PZero and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S.

If you are looking for the best performing summer street tire and live in a warm, dry area, these are for you. If you are not this person, look elsewhere for your high-performance tires.

Mark

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/04/2021

The tires function smoothly on both wet and dry surfaces and provide excellent grip on the road.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
27000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Matt

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/24/2019

I recently acquired a 2016 Audi A5 convertible on lease and noticed that it had Nitto tires which were making my car quite bumpy. The drive back home was not as pleasant as I thought it would be. The tires were so hard that they felt like rocks. I checked the tire pressure and they were over 40 psi - the store where the previous owner got them from had read the pressure on the door but that was only for maximum vehicle load with four people and luggage in the car. After some research, I decided to use the chalk method to adjust the tire pressure and it made a huge difference. The tires were now at 30/31 psi and the full tread was being utilized. The sidewalls also flexed, making the ride much smoother on both highway and city roads. I was extremely impressed with how well the tires handled sharp corners and high-speed sweepers. Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase and will definitely buy them again in the future.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Cory

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/08/2019

These tires are perfect for AWD vehicles and have a lifespan of around 25000-30000 miles. This is actually my second time purchasing them due to their exceptional performance in any type of weather. Additionally, they handle high-speed turns without any slipping or squealing.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Tom

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

10/19/2018

Ideal for both street and drag racing.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
5000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Stan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/27/2018

I had the Pilot Sport tires on my car when I bought it and they were great in dry and wet conditions. The new Pilot Super Sport tires that I recently got are even better - they're quieter and more responsive than the previous generation.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.