Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 Review

5 User Reviews

Leave review

 Out Of 1

in Light Truck/SUV Studless Ice & Snow tires

104000

Miles Reported

5

User Reviews

Review summary

Based on the research we've done, Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 tires handle well in dry and wet conditions. However, according to many users, these tires don’t grip well in extremely icy conditions, and they may slip.

While this tire was designed specifically for winter conditions in mind, our research suggests that it does decently in most weather types. The tire tests and user experiences we have sorted suggest that this model of tire is a quality winter weather tire, but it’s only average on wet roads and may slip on thick ice.

Pros

  • Treadwear
  • Superior grip on frosty settings
  • Great handling in dry road

Cons

  • Sometimes slips in thick snow

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
92.00%
WET TRACTION
96.00%
Noise
88.00%
COMFORT
96.00%
TREAD LIFE
92.00%

5

reviews

104000

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 0.0
Wet Traction 0.0
Noise 0.0
comfort 0.0
Tread Life 0.0
Braking 0.0
Sharpness 0.0
Durability 0.0
Feel 0.0
Show more

User Reviews

Camille

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/31/2020

I used these tires for my FWD Acadia to travel from Arizona to Alaska during winter, and also for driving around the city until winter ended. These tires performed well on snowy roads and the icy streets of Fairbanks.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
14000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Matthew

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

10/11/2020

Just gotta say, Michelin's tires are the best. When it comes to driving in Michigan winter, my wife's escape remains very smooth and safe. Highly recommend these tires!

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
31000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

4

Dry Traction

Chris

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/22/2020

I am definitely keeping a set for any vehicle I own while living in Minnesota.

Overall Rating
4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

4

Dry Traction

Mary

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/22/2021

These tires are fantastic and can handle winter weather with ease!

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
15000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

George

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

02/24/2021

I would definitely make the purchase again.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
15000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Mary

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/22/2021

These tires are fantastic and can handle winter weather with ease!

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
15000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

George

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

02/24/2021

I would definitely make the purchase again.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
15000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Matthew

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

10/11/2020

Just gotta say, Michelin's tires are the best. When it comes to driving in Michigan winter, my wife's escape remains very smooth and safe. Highly recommend these tires!

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
31000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Camille

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/31/2020

I used these tires for my FWD Acadia to travel from Arizona to Alaska during winter, and also for driving around the city until winter ended. These tires performed well on snowy roads and the icy streets of Fairbanks.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
14000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Chris

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/22/2020

I am definitely keeping a set for any vehicle I own while living in Minnesota.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2

 Out Of 1

in Light Truck/SUV Studless Ice & Snow tires

104000

Miles Reported

5

User Reviews

Full review

This is a review of the Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 tire.

If you want durable four-season tires, then Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 is the best preference for you. It is the ultimate tire preference for dry, wet, icy, and snowy roads. Besides, it gives you the perfect, quiet, and comfortable ride. 

In this Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 review, we’ll cover some of the main attributes of this tire. Then, we’ll look into its capabilities in different road settings and settings. 

You will also learn different specs of this tire, car compatibility, different sizes, and noise levels.

Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed.

This review is entirely based on user reviews and professional tests. We compiled the information to give you the best overall experience for the tire. Unbiased, honest and to the point.

Overview

Most snow tires in the market are designed for light snow levels. However, Michelin X-ice Xi2 works well even in deep snow settings.

Michelin Latitude X-ice is made using silica-silane filler or FleX-ice. This material works well in cold temperatures, giving the tire an added advantage in wet or frosty settings.

Besides, Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 is perfect for dry-road settings because of the cross Z Sipes used. The 3-D zigzag self-locking sipes give your vehicle enough grip on dry settings. They lock the tread just enough to allow your car to move with ease. 

Additionally, the siping pattern helps prevent wearing that’s commonly associated with other snow tires on dry roads.

What Kind of Cars is This Tire Recommended to Use On?

According to our research, the Latitude X-ice is compatible with crossover cars, trucks, and SUVs. The tire has a perfect balancing act that works well with all these different vehicle types.

Performance

In Frosty Settings

Users raved about the Michelin latitude X-ice Xi2 in ice conditions. It does great in light to medium frosty settings. It has the perfect linear grip, which facilitates acceleration and braking.

Besides, the tire works well with SUVs since it distributes weight evenly, giving the car good balance. However, when forced, the tire can understeer in such settings.

After testing, the Latitude X-ice X-i2 does not do well in deep snow. It has shallow treads in comparison to other deep snow tires. Therefore, it may struggle with heavy winter roads.

Overall, Latitude X-ice handles different levels of snow well. It is an ideal match for people who live in areas with light to middle snow levels. This is made possible by the FleX-ice material used for making the tire.

In Wet Roads

Michelin Latitude X-ice X-i2 has an average performance in wet settings. The tire works best in medium winter settings. But unlike other winter tires that fair badly on wet roads, Michelin strikes back with balance. The FleX-ice tire material gives Latitude X-ice good wet road handling and braking capabilities. But it is slightly slow in comparison to other wet road tires.

Dry Road Performance

Michelin Latitude X-ice X-i2 has an average performance in dry road settings. However, the tire is designed to work in frosty winter settings. Therefore, it underperforms on dry roads in comparison to dry-road-only tires.

However, Latitude X-ice does pretty well for a winter tire. This can be attributed to Michelin’s FleX-ice silica silane. The material gives the tire balance and versatility in dry road settings. Therefore, you won’t have to worry about having different sets of tires for various road settings.

Braking Distance

Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 is the ultimate tire for winter settings. It has the best braking performance in such settings, outdoing any other tire in this category. The quality adds to the tire’s superior handling, traction, and grip on icy roads.

In wet situations, Latitude X-ice Xi2 has an average braking performance. It takes an extra 0.44 meters that the best tire in this category. However, that’s a pretty good performance in comparison to other winter tires.

Latitude X-ice Xi2 also has an average braking performance in dry settings. According to tests, the tire takes an additional 1.47 meters to brake compared to the best dry road braking tire. The winter tire category scoops number four in dry braking performance. That’s a pretty fair performance for a winter tire.

Handling

Feel

Latitude X-ice Xi2 tires are designed to give elite control for the best performance. Thanks to the silica-silane tire body material, it has a great handling balance in most road settings. 

Besides, the locking treads help stabilize its operations on frosty, wet, and dry roads.

Noise and Comfort

Michelin X-ice Xi2 is the best tire for you during winter. Despite rough road settings, the tire will deliver high-quality performance without fail. And it does all this while producing minimum noise. 

Therefore, expect a quiet, comfortable ride in frosty, wet, dry, and slushy settings.

Durability Warranty

Michelin Latitude X-ice has a great grip and offers a 40,000 mile treadwear warranty, which is 75 percent better than other snow tires. 

However, this treadwear amount is small compared to the Michelin Defender, which offers up to 90,000 miles.

Users report that the tire works well as the Michelin warranty indicates. In addition, most people say that the tread durability is long and reaches 40,000 miles in winter. 

Therefore, it is a great preference for people in icy settings and is suitable for the money.

Price-quality

Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 is suitable for money. It performs well in various road settings without fail. Besides, it offers high-quality comfort and balances even when road settings change.

Price-durability

This tire has a warranty durability of approximately 40,000 miles. In addition, it is a great treadwear capacity for a medium-duty winter tire. 

Therefore, Latitude X-ice Xi2 is suitable for every penny. It is perfect for you if you want to spend your money on a durable, high-performance tire.

Recommendations

Michelin X-ice X-i2 is a good tire for you because of its versatility. It has a good balance for various road settings, enabling it to maneuver icy, wet, and dry roads without fail.

This tire is suitable for the pricing due to its good performance capabilities. Besides, it offers a comfortable and quiet ride in most road settings. The 40,000 miles treadwear durability package also makes Michelin X-ice Xi2 good for the money.

However, the tire does not fare well in deep snow settings due to the light treads. Therefore, if you are in such settings, try Michelin Defender because of its heavy-duty treads that do well in heavy snow.

Conclusion

Michelin Latitude X-ice X-i2 is an excellent tire for winter settings. It has a great handling performance in snow and delivers without fail. 

Moreover, it has great treadwear durability and offers high-quality comfortability on the road. Additionally, the tire has a good balance in other road settings such as wet and dry roads.

References:

Michelin Latitude X-ice Xi2 – User Reviews | tirerack.com

Mary

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/22/2021

These tires are fantastic and can handle winter weather with ease!

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
15000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

George

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

02/24/2021

I would definitely make the purchase again.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
15000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Matthew

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

10/11/2020

Just gotta say, Michelin's tires are the best. When it comes to driving in Michigan winter, my wife's escape remains very smooth and safe. Highly recommend these tires!

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
31000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Camille

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/31/2020

I used these tires for my FWD Acadia to travel from Arizona to Alaska during winter, and also for driving around the city until winter ended. These tires performed well on snowy roads and the icy streets of Fairbanks.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
14000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Chris

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/22/2020

I am definitely keeping a set for any vehicle I own while living in Minnesota.

Overall Rating
4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.