Hankook Ventus V2 Concept2 Review

185 User Reviews

Leave review

2 Out Of 6

in High performance all-season tires

2348349

Miles Reported

185

User Reviews

Review summary

Based on our research, we can conclude that the Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire is a good, economical option for those looking for a comprehensive all-season tire. Users report that the noise-blocking technology included on these tires works well, although they do seem to wear along with the tire.

However, many users note that the tire does not perform in wet conditions as advertised. Some users report that the tires do not handle well in the rain or snow. It is for this reason that we suggest this tire to customers who live in dryer climates.

Pros

  • Noise blocking technology provides a quiet, relaxing driving experience
  • Economical price point
  • Hankook is a well known, respected brand

Cons

  • The tread does not perform in wet or snowy conditions
  • It does not perform as a "premium tire."
  • The 45,000-mile warranty comes with a lot of red tape

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
82.16%
WET TRACTION
70.38%
Noise
78.27%
COMFORT
79.35%
TREAD LIFE
77.51%

185

reviews

2348349

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

Hankook Ventus V2 Concept2

Yokohama Avid Envigor ZPS

Toyo Proxes 4 Plus

Goodyear Eagle RS-A

Bridgestone Potenza RE92

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 8.07.88.47.71.8
Wet Traction 6.87.46.76.51.4
Noise 7.67.07.96.71.8
comfort 7.77.08.06.81.8
Tread Life 7.56.97.46.71.6
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Charles

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/07/2022

I've only used these tires occasionally, but so far they have performed well with 500 miles on them.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
12000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Rodney

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/13/2022

These tires are impressively quiet and provide excellent grip on sharp turns. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and would highly recommend them for anyone looking to upgrade their car's tires.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
18000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Donnie

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/22/2022

The tyres are doing their job just fine.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
33000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Rick

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/09/2021

Looks like these tires are quite good considering their price.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
35000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

William

No I would not purchase this tire again.

05/18/2022

I decided to purchase a second set, but unfortunately, it didn't meet my expectations. My first set was a lot better, and I only bought this second one because of my previous positive experience. However, this second set didn't impress me, and I don't plan on buying another one.

Overall Rating
2.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
28000

3

Ride Comfort

2

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

3

Wet traction

2

Dry Traction

Donnie

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/22/2022

The tyres are doing their job just fine.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
33000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Charles

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/07/2022

I've only used these tires occasionally, but so far they have performed well with 500 miles on them.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
12000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

William

No I would not purchase this tire again.

05/18/2022

I decided to purchase a second set, but unfortunately, it didn't meet my expectations. My first set was a lot better, and I only bought this second one because of my previous positive experience. However, this second set didn't impress me, and I don't plan on buying another one.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
28000

3

Ride Comfort

2

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

2

Dry Traction

Rodney

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/13/2022

These tires are impressively quiet and provide excellent grip on sharp turns. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and would highly recommend them for anyone looking to upgrade their car's tires.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
18000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rick

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/09/2021

Looks like these tires are quite good considering their price.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
35000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Hankook Ventus V2 Concept2

2 Out Of 6

in High performance all-season tires

2348349

Miles Reported

185

User Reviews

Full review

This is a review of Hankook’s Ventus V2 Concept 2 Tire. After taking a look at reviews found across the web and reviewing manufacturer facts and figures, we have done the research necessary to bring you all of the facts concerning this tire. We have poured over real user reviews to find out the best and worst aspects of the Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire. We compile facts and figures regarding this specific tire to bring you an objective overview to help you decide if the Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire is a good fit for you. We’ll explore key features and what makes this tire unique to others on the market. Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed. The Ventus V2 Concept 2 won the iF Product Design Award in 2015 due to its advanced design and leading technology within the industry. The Hankook Ventus V2 Concept 2 is not only a popular choice; it’s an award-winning one. But what do customers have to say? In this review, we will analyze the research we compiled that allowed us to come to these conclusions. We will explore key features of the Hankook Ventus V2 Concept 2 and help you decide whether or not this is the tire for you. Keep reading to discover what the best and worst aspects of this tire are.

Overview

This all-season tire is Hankook’s basic performance model. The Ventus V2 Concept 2 was created for sedans, SUVs, and sports coupes. The Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire was created by Hankook Tire, a world-renowned company based in Korea. The company was founded by Cho Hung Jai and is now run by his grandson, Jae Hun Chung. Founded in 1941, Hankook is based in Seoul and is among the top ten largest tire companies in the world. Last year, Hankook Tire announced they were adding 23 additional sizes to the Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire. The tires are made in Hankook’s American plant located in Clarksville, Tennessee. The fact that many of the tires are made in the U.S is favorable to many customers. Hankook recently made headlines by being awarded exclusive supplier rights to the Formula E Championship races, beating out Michelin and other more prominent contenders. This deal further cements Hankook’s presence as one of the most trusted tire brands in the world.

Key Features & Performance

Looking closely at the tire, you’ll notice a pattern of deep, v-shaped ridges. This is referred to as Aqua Driving Control technology at Hankook and aids in drainage and distribution of water. This design is supposed to drain snow, slush, and water while driving to maximize traction even in wet conditions. What do customers say about performance in wet conditions? Customers on TireRack reported difficulty driving in the rain. One user had this to say about their experience: “Had a few too many oh —- moments when driving with these tires almost always when it’s been raining out I would turn a corner, and I would start losing traction. Including one time completely losing traction and going into the other lane before being able to regain control.”

Handling

The 3D point effect and center rib block are designed to increase braking and handling ability. This design is intended to improve safety and traction when unexpected brakes are required.  Located inside the tire is a new material wide belt, which Hankook credits for the tire’s ease of handling and optimal tread stiffness. This steel belt reinforces the strength and stability of the tire without adding excessive weight. The Ventus V2 Concept 2 also comes with reinforced high-hardness bead filler technology. This extra reinforcement from the tire’s core promotes handling and steering response. Inside the bead filler is the use of strong, single-strand bead wire. The bead wire plays a very important role, as it is what anchors the tire to the wheel. The use of a single-strand bead wire is thought to improve uniformity and overall performance. Customers feel positively towards the Ventus V2 Concept 2’s handling performance. One user had this to say about his positive experience with the tires: “These are a great (tire) for a casual urban driver. The tread has lasted so much longer than expected-great for money, and the (tires) themselves just grip around corners and roundabouts with no issues. 100% safe if you like taking friends and family around in your car. You can definitely rely on the performance of these mid-range, good-handling, economic (tires).”

Noise and Comfort

The tread on this tire is designed to create minimal noise. Have you ever been in a vehicle that drives loud?  Hankook developed a unique feature on the Ventus V2 Concept 2 to combat this problem. On the shoulder of the tire are noise blocks to minimize road sounds that reach the cabin of the vehicle. This design add-on is supposed to promote a comfortable, relaxing ride. On TireRack, the Ventus V2 Concept 2 scored very well in overall comfort. Users generally reported favorable experiences when describing noise and comfort. One five-star reviewer had this to say: “These tires are just amazing! Put them on our 2010 C300 4 Matic. They ride smooth(ly), make no noise, and (handles) all kinds of weather. Definitely recommend them.”

Durability

Further inside the tire, engineers at Hankook designed the tire’s carcass to maximize equilibrium and minimize tire deformation. The tire carcass refers to the inner framework of the tire. This prevents heat build-up and the tire from wearing down too quickly. The general consensus on 1010Tires is that the wear is very good. It appears that Hankook delivers on its long-lasting, performing promise. One user had this to say about their durability experience: “I am on my second set; (the) first set lasted 100,000 miles and still had tread when I changed them out. These are by far the best tires ever, high performance, excellent handling, and wear. The only tire type I will be buying is this one.” To back up their promise of high performance, Hankook offers a 45,000-mile warranty on this model of tire. However, keep in mind that this is not a money-back guarantee. Some even feel tread life warranties are nothing more than a marketing gimmick and are nearly impossible to collect on. Be sure to read Hankook’s lengthy set of terms that must be met before you’re sold on the warranty.

Price

Hankook’s Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire is known for being a basic all-season tire that appears to be a functional and economical choice. Here’s what users are saying about the price point. User on Amazon feels that this tire is a superb combination of price and quality; “These are the best value for money tires on the market.”  However, others felt that you get what you pay for – one user on Reddit had this to say about the Hankook Ventus V2 Concept 2 tire: “I would say, in my experience, with the Hankook’s I got what I paid for. In comparison with the Continental Extreme Contact, the Hankook’s truly felt like a budget tire; it didn’t feel like a premium experience. Their life was not nearly as long. The Hankook’s had to be changed out every 25k miles or so. With the Continentals, I was nearing 40k miles before I had to sell my car, and I still had some good tread life left. And yes, I was very diligent in balancing, rotating, and aligning my car, regularly.”

Recommendations and Conclusions

Hankook’s Ventus V2 Concept 2 claims to be an all-performance, all-season tire equipped with the latest technology. Based on user reviews, one can expect this to be a satisfactory tire in dry conditions. However, based on several reviews, the aqua driving control technology designed into the tire’s tread does not seem to be as effective as Hankook claims. Live in a rainy climate? The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires perform very well in rainy conditions. If comfort and low noise are essential aspects that factor into your tire purchase, the Ventus V2 Concept 2 may be a good option for you. The noise blockers on the tire’s shoulder seem to work well, though they may gradually wear out with the tire. It appears most people are satisfied with the Ventus V2 Concept 2 based on what they receive regarding the price point. In general, reviews are positive. The only recurring theme in many user comments is the tire’s performance in wet conditions.

Donnie

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/22/2022

The tyres are doing their job just fine.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
33000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Charles

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/07/2022

I've only used these tires occasionally, but so far they have performed well with 500 miles on them.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
12000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

William

No I would not purchase this tire again.

05/18/2022

I decided to purchase a second set, but unfortunately, it didn't meet my expectations. My first set was a lot better, and I only bought this second one because of my previous positive experience. However, this second set didn't impress me, and I don't plan on buying another one.

Overall Rating
2.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
28000

3

Ride Comfort

2

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

2

Dry Traction

Rodney

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/13/2022

These tires are impressively quiet and provide excellent grip on sharp turns. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and would highly recommend them for anyone looking to upgrade their car's tires.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
18000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rick

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/09/2021

Looks like these tires are quite good considering their price.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
35000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.