Hankook Dynapro HT Review

186 User Reviews

Leave review

51 Out Of 114

in All-season tires

4431326

Miles Reported

186

User Reviews

Review summary

Our research concludes that the Hankook Dynapro HT is best for highway drives. This tire provides a smooth and quiet driving experience and can last many miles if you treat them properly. 

However, it has average traction on wet roads and can’t hold its own in snowy conditions. Along with not maintaining a firm grip on these conditions, consistent driving will wear down the tires quickly.

Pros

  • Great performance on highways
  • Reliable for everyday use
  • Smooth and quiet driving experience
  • Potentially long tread life

Cons

  • Adequate wet traction
  • Cannot drive in snow

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
82.48%
WET TRACTION
71.56%
Noise
81.08%
COMFORT
81.19%
TREAD LIFE
75.46%
Snow Traction
55.03%
Ice Traction
49.19%

186

reviews

4431326

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

Hankook Dynapro HT

Michelin CrossClimate 2

Continental TerrainContact H/T

Michelin Defender LTX M/S

Michelin Agilis CrossClimate

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 8.09.49.09.39.1
Wet Traction 6.99.48.99.28.9
Noise 7.98.78.99.18.6
comfort 7.98.98.89.28.7
Tread Life 7.39.18.89.18.6
Snow traction 5.38.98.18.48.2
Ice traction 4.78.57.87.97.8
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Jeremy

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/03/2022

This product is reasonably priced, and it met all of my expectations. I would definitely recommend it for driving on highways in any type of weather.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Larry

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/12/2022

None.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
37000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Val

No I would not purchase this tire again.

03/31/2022

This tire is a good deal for the price.

Overall Rating
3.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
40000

3

Ride Comfort

2

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Paul

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/25/2022

These tires are great! Whenever anyone asks me, I suggest going to a particular tire shop because their service is top-notch.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

David

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/24/2022

The pricing is quite reasonable and the appearance is appealing.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
33000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Jeremy

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/03/2022

This product is reasonably priced, and it met all of my expectations. I would definitely recommend it for driving on highways in any type of weather.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Val

No I would not purchase this tire again.

03/31/2022

This tire is a good deal for the price.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
40000

3

Ride Comfort

2

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Paul

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/25/2022

These tires are great! Whenever anyone asks me, I suggest going to a particular tire shop because their service is top-notch.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

David

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/24/2022

The pricing is quite reasonable and the appearance is appealing.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
33000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Larry

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/12/2022

None.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
37000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Hankook Dynapro HT

51 Out Of 114

in All-season tires

4431326

Miles Reported

186

User Reviews

Full review

This article is a thorough review of the Hankook Dynapro HT to help you determine if it’s a good fit for you. 

Our review uses the manufacturer’s specifications data and compares them with information gathered from numerous customer reviews. We compared the data from these two types of sources to help us gain a comprehensive understanding of the tire’s overall performance.

Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed.

Make sure to read through our analysis of the Hankook Dynapro HT to find out how we came to our conclusion. We’ll go over the overall performance of these tires as well as their key features. Then, we’ll share our comparisons with competitive brands and recommendations. 

Keep reading to determine if the Hankook Dynapro HT is the right tire for you. 

Hankook Dynapro HT Overview

The Hankook Dynapro HT is a premium all-season tire for pickup trucks, SUVs, and vans. It’s the first model of its kind in the Hankook Dynapro lineup and based on tests and reviews, it works extremely well as a highway terrain tire. However, as the first model, we can see room for improvement because its capabilities are rather limited to highway drives.

This tire excels in smooth and quiet driving. It has high-strength steel bets that make maneuvering easy, and it also contains high-tensile strength sidewall rubber that absorbs impact and vibration. Other than these features, the Hankook Dynapro HT can improve on driving in rainy and snowy conditions because it can’t maintain a strong grip. 

Hankook Dynapro HT Performance Breakdown

We compiled a thorough analysis of the Hankook Dynapro HT by evaluating several key performance categories. All information is backed up by several test sites and customer reviews. Let’s take a look. 

Performance

According to user reviews the Hankook Dynapro HT works best as just a highway terrain tire. Most positive reviews come from users living in climates with less rain and mild winters. Users with negative experiences often comment on the tire’s inability to maintain traction in inclement weather. 

The tire does have some features, such as independent intermediate tread blocks with interlocking geometry, that are supposed to assist with traction on wet and snowy roads. However, the user reviews say otherwise. 

Wet

The Hankook Dynapro HT does a decent job maintaining traction and grip on wet roads. The lateral notches and tread blocks with the interlocking geometric design are meant to increase traction in wet and snowy conditions. The tire also has four circumferential grooves to displace water and prevent hydroplaning. 

However, this design doesn’t seem to perform exceptionally well in the rain. Customer reviews state that these tires have an average grip on wet roads, but they quickly reach their limit. Some customers had to slow down significantly on stormy days to drive safely. 

Dry

The Hankook Dynapro HT excels in highway driving. It has a symmetrical design that helps the tires to wear evenly. The high-stiffness center rib promotes responsiveness so that drivers can easily maneuver throughout the highway. 

It’s essential to note that this tire isn’t for gravel and off-road driving. The tires will wear down rather quickly in harsher driving conditions. Therefore, it’s best if they stay on smooth roads and highways. 

Snow

This tire contains some design elements to help it maintain a good grip in the snow. The most significant feature is the interlocking geometric design meant to generate traction. 

However, the Hankook Dynapro HT just doesn’t handle snow very well. Drivers may be able to drive around with about an inch of snow, but once the snow starts to accumulate, the tires will lose traction. 

The Hankook Dynapro HT does even worse with icy conditions. They can’t get a good grip on the road and can even slip when the vehicle is stationary and on an incline. 

Handling

When in the proper driving conditions, drivers can experience excellent handling with the Hankook Dynapro HT. The stiff center rib allows a seamless steering response and helps vehicles maintain straight-line tracking. The tire also has stable shoulders and high-strength steel bets that reinforce its steering response. 

Noise and Comfort

This tire excels in noise reduction and comfort. Customer reviews from Tirerack.com mention that they don’t feel vibration very much, and the car remains quiet while driving on the highway. The tire contains a reinforced under-tread protective layer and high-tensile strength sidewall rubber to reduce damage and absorb any impact. 

Durability

The manufacturer provides a 70,000 mileage warranty. It’s rather inconsistent about whether or not customers drove up to this mileage. Some have driven past 70,000 miles while others couldn’t get past 20,000 miles. 

Our research discovered that driving in harsh road conditions or high speeds will significantly deteriorate the tires quickly. Drivers who drove past 70,000 miles were gentle on their cars, stuck to paved roads, and didn’t drive at high speeds. 

Price

The Hankook Dynapro ST is a premium tire in Hankook’s collection. However, we can’t confidently say that the price is worth the tire’s performance. It’s still an affordable tire compared to its competitors, but it’s rather high for Hankook’s prices. 

This tire may be a good investment to drivers that will use it exclusively on smooth and dry roads. It appears that these conditions help the tires maintain their shape and tread for much longer. 

However, it seems to deteriorate rather quickly from all other driving conditions. So, you’re better off selecting a different tire, especially if you know you’ll drive in snowy weather. 

Recommendations and Conclusions

Here are our final thoughts and recommendations regarding the Hankook Dynapro HT’s performance. 

Recommendations

Overall, the Hankook Dynapro HT is a good tire for a limited selection of drivers. It’s really just  for drivers looking for a set for everyday use in mild weather and paved roads. In optimal driving conditions, these tires will last a long time. 

Although the Hankook Dynapro HT falls in the all-season category, its lackluster performance in wet and snowy roads indicates that this tire isn’t for people living in areas with a lot of rain and snow. 

Based on some customer reviews, the Michelin CrossClimate 2 and Goodyear Assurance WeatherReady outperform the Hankook Dynapro HT in the weather category. These two tires fare much better in wet and snowy conditions and have better traction. All three tires are also at a similar price point. 

Conclusions

Overall, we recommend this tire only to specific drivers. It’s a great premium tire at a relatively affordable cost. You’ll get a good deal out of these tires if you stick to paved roads and don’t drive at high speeds. 

If you’re looking for a more affordable tire with similar performance, the Continental ControlContact Tour A/S Plus is a worthy contender.

If the capability to drive in more extreme conditions is important to you, the Michelin CrossClimate 2 and Goodyear Assurance WeatherReady are better options. 

References

Hankook Dynapro HT | Tirerack.com

Jeremy

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/03/2022

This product is reasonably priced, and it met all of my expectations. I would definitely recommend it for driving on highways in any type of weather.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Val

No I would not purchase this tire again.

03/31/2022

This tire is a good deal for the price.

Overall Rating
3.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
40000

3

Ride Comfort

2

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Paul

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/25/2022

These tires are great! Whenever anyone asks me, I suggest going to a particular tire shop because their service is top-notch.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

David

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/24/2022

The pricing is quite reasonable and the appearance is appealing.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
33000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Larry

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/12/2022

None.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
37000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.