Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar Review

186 User Reviews

Leave review

6 Out Of 13

in Off-Road tires

3282602

Miles Reported

186

User Reviews

Review summary

Based on our analysis of the research, data, and customer reviews for the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar, we highly recommend this tire for drivers who demand exceptional performance across a range of driving conditions. The MT/R with Kevlar delivers impressive dry and wet traction, as well as reliable performance on dirt and loose terrain. Despite some noise and comfort issues, user reviews suggest that the tire offers a comfortable ride. The tire's tread life may be only average, but customers rave about its exceptional durability and long-lasting tread. While it may not be the best option for ice traction, the tire still performs well in snowy conditions. Overall, the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar is a solid option for drivers who prioritize reliability and performance across diverse driving conditions, making it a wise investment for any adventurous driver.

Pros

  • Excellent traction and stability on wet and dry surfaces
  • Superior wet traction capabilities
  • Provides a comfortable ride
  • Impressive durability and long-lasting tread
  • Great performance in snowy conditions

Cons

  • Not the quietest tire on the market
  • Lower score for ice traction
  • Not the best in deep snow
  • Below-average score in tread life
  • Not meant for serious off-road driving over large rocks and in deep mud

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
84.43%
WET TRACTION
82.48%
Noise
62.27%
COMFORT
68.22%
TREAD LIFE
67.56%
Off Road Traction
0.00%

186

reviews

3282602

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar

Yokohama Geolandar M/T G003

General Grabber X3

BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM2

Firestone Destination M/T2

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 8.28.08.68.68.5
Wet Traction 8.07.88.58.38.1
Noise 6.07.17.67.47.4
comfort 6.67.47.97.87.9
Tread Life 6.57.98.28.28.1
Off-road 0.00.00.00.00.0
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Kelly

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/27/2021

These tires are amazing for their intended purpose. Their exceptional grip on rough terrain is such that I try hard to avoid driving on asphalt with my truck to prevent additional stress on all the parts. When driving slowly on asphalt, the tires can give the feel of a vehicle with tracks. However, this quality makes them outstanding off-road. I get the sensation of driving a spider-like truck while off-roading. I have taken my truck up some steep and rugged terrains with many pebbles and sharp rocks, and the tires have never failed me. I would be surprised if they ever did. One of the things I appreciate about these tires is that they are among the few available options in this size. They fit onto a factory 17" wheel and lift the truck about an inch higher. By the way, if you are the type who drives on fancy 20" wheels with 5" sidewall and pretends to go rock-crawling, you might want to reconsider.

Overall Rating
4.2
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

3

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Jim

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/19/2021

At first, I was set on purchasing BFG KO2s, but unfortunately, the size I needed was not available at discount tire. Instead, I decided to give Good Year Wranglers a try, and I have been quite pleased with their performance thus far. They have been holding up well, although the ride is a bit bumpier compared to my previous KO2s.

Overall Rating
4.2
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
18000

4

Ride Comfort

3

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Cameron

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/02/2022

Love these

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
32000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Austin

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/19/2021

These tires are really great for off-road driving. We know someone who uses them on their off-road-only vehicle and they work really well. Even though we don't do too much off-roading ourselves, we thought these tires would be a good fit for both on-road and off-road driving. They've lived up to our expectations, but we did notice that they require more RPMs to keep our Jeep going. We had already re-geared our Jeep, but we were surprised by how much more work our engine had to put in.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Brooke

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/18/2021

The tires themselves seem fine, however, the installation was a bit concerning. The installers added an excessive amount of weights on each tire - basically filling up half of the tire both inside and out. As a result, my car shook so much that it became unsafe to drive.

Overall Rating
3.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

1

Ride Comfort

1

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Cameron

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/02/2022

Love these

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
32000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Jim

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/19/2021

At first, I was set on purchasing BFG KO2s, but unfortunately, the size I needed was not available at discount tire. Instead, I decided to give Good Year Wranglers a try, and I have been quite pleased with their performance thus far. They have been holding up well, although the ride is a bit bumpier compared to my previous KO2s.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
18000

4

Ride Comfort

3

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Brooke

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/18/2021

The tires themselves seem fine, however, the installation was a bit concerning. The installers added an excessive amount of weights on each tire - basically filling up half of the tire both inside and out. As a result, my car shook so much that it became unsafe to drive.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

1

Ride Comfort

1

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Austin

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/19/2021

These tires are really great for off-road driving. We know someone who uses them on their off-road-only vehicle and they work really well. Even though we don't do too much off-roading ourselves, we thought these tires would be a good fit for both on-road and off-road driving. They've lived up to our expectations, but we did notice that they require more RPMs to keep our Jeep going. We had already re-geared our Jeep, but we were surprised by how much more work our engine had to put in.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Kelly

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/27/2021

These tires are amazing for their intended purpose. Their exceptional grip on rough terrain is such that I try hard to avoid driving on asphalt with my truck to prevent additional stress on all the parts. When driving slowly on asphalt, the tires can give the feel of a vehicle with tracks. However, this quality makes them outstanding off-road. I get the sensation of driving a spider-like truck while off-roading. I have taken my truck up some steep and rugged terrains with many pebbles and sharp rocks, and the tires have never failed me. I would be surprised if they ever did. One of the things I appreciate about these tires is that they are among the few available options in this size. They fit onto a factory 17" wheel and lift the truck about an inch higher. By the way, if you are the type who drives on fancy 20" wheels with 5" sidewall and pretends to go rock-crawling, you might want to reconsider.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

3

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar

6 Out Of 13

in Off-Road tires

3282602

Miles Reported

186

User Reviews

Full review

Performance

The Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar is truly a remarkable tire, offering exceptional performance and reliability across various driving conditions. According to user reviews, this tire provides excellent traction and stability on both wet and dry surfaces, making it a top choice for drivers who need a tire that performs well under all weather conditions.

Dry Traction

Users rave about the dry traction performance of these tires, providing drivers with the stability and control they need on the road. As evident from reviews, these tires give an excellent grip and handling, even on dirt and loose terrain, making them a great choice for adventurous drivers.

Wet Traction

Wet surfaces can often spell trouble for drivers, but not with these tires. Users have praised their superior wet traction capabilities, stating that they provide excellent handling and grip even in heavy downpours and wet conditions. According to reviews, drivers can expect a safe and stable ride in wet conditions, thanks to these tires.

Noise and Comfort

While the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar is not the quietest tire on the market, it still offers a comfortable ride. Reviewers mention that the tire's noise level is not overly distracting, and the ride remains smooth and comfortable.

Tread Life

Considering the tough terrain these tires often face, they offer impressive durability and long-lasting tread. Although the tire's tread life received an average score, numerous users have mentioned that these tires have lasted far longer than they expected. Even after years of tough use, these tires have maintained their reliable performance, making them an excellent investment for drivers who want a tire that lasts.

Snow and Ice Traction

While not the best in snow and ice, users praise these tires for their excellent performance in snowy conditions. Even with a lower score for ice traction, the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar is still a solid choice for drivers who face snowy and icy conditions during the winter months.

Conclusions

The Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar is an exceptional tire, offering drivers reliable performance, stability, and functionality for various driving conditions. From traction and control performance to durability and long-lasting tread, these tires are an excellent choice for adventurous drivers looking for a tire they can depend on. Despite the lower noise and comfort scores and the average score in tread life, the user reviews make it clear that these tires exceed expectations in many ways and should be a tire to consider for those who need a reliable tire that can take on tough conditions.

Cameron

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/02/2022

Love these

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
32000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Jim

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/19/2021

At first, I was set on purchasing BFG KO2s, but unfortunately, the size I needed was not available at discount tire. Instead, I decided to give Good Year Wranglers a try, and I have been quite pleased with their performance thus far. They have been holding up well, although the ride is a bit bumpier compared to my previous KO2s.

Overall Rating
4.2
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
18000

4

Ride Comfort

3

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Brooke

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/18/2021

The tires themselves seem fine, however, the installation was a bit concerning. The installers added an excessive amount of weights on each tire - basically filling up half of the tire both inside and out. As a result, my car shook so much that it became unsafe to drive.

Overall Rating
3.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

1

Ride Comfort

1

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Austin

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/19/2021

These tires are really great for off-road driving. We know someone who uses them on their off-road-only vehicle and they work really well. Even though we don't do too much off-roading ourselves, we thought these tires would be a good fit for both on-road and off-road driving. They've lived up to our expectations, but we did notice that they require more RPMs to keep our Jeep going. We had already re-geared our Jeep, but we were surprised by how much more work our engine had to put in.

Overall Rating
5
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Kelly

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/27/2021

These tires are amazing for their intended purpose. Their exceptional grip on rough terrain is such that I try hard to avoid driving on asphalt with my truck to prevent additional stress on all the parts. When driving slowly on asphalt, the tires can give the feel of a vehicle with tracks. However, this quality makes them outstanding off-road. I get the sensation of driving a spider-like truck while off-roading. I have taken my truck up some steep and rugged terrains with many pebbles and sharp rocks, and the tires have never failed me. I would be surprised if they ever did. One of the things I appreciate about these tires is that they are among the few available options in this size. They fit onto a factory 17" wheel and lift the truck about an inch higher. By the way, if you are the type who drives on fancy 20" wheels with 5" sidewall and pretends to go rock-crawling, you might want to reconsider.

Overall Rating
4.2
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
29000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

3

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.