General G-Max RS Review

318 User Reviews

Leave review

4 Out Of 35

in High performance summer tires

1572739

Miles Reported

318

User Reviews

Review summary

Based on our research and our analysis of user reviews, we have concluded that his tire performs well in dry conditions, provides consistent and reliable handling, and provides ample comfort for a long-term and durable tire. 

However, this tire is not the best choice for winter or snow performances since it is made specifically for summer use.

Pros

  • Suitable for both dry and wet conditions in summer weather
  • Users have rated the tire highly in terms of ride quality and low noise
  • Performed better than 99% of other ultra high-performance summer tires
  • Ranked 2 out of 8 in the Ultra High-Performance Summer Tires tests according to Tire Rack

Cons

  • Not suitable for use in winter or snow conditions
  • According to Mavis Tire, users did not rank this tire highly in terms of treadwear, giving this tire only a 6.9 out of 10 in terms of durability
  • Inconsistent user reviews in terms of durability, noise, and comfort

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
90.09%
WET TRACTION
86.76%
Noise
84.19%
COMFORT
85.17%
TREAD LIFE
83.14%

318

reviews

1572739

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

General G-Max RS

Michelin Pilot Sport 4S

Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Continental ExtremeContact Sport

Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 8.99.69.59.06.6
Wet Traction 8.68.99.08.76.5
Noise 8.38.78.68.66.4
comfort 8.48.88.78.66.2
Tread Life 8.28.38.17.95.9
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Juan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/27/2021

I'm really happy with these tires - they're awesome quality and have a really cool look to them.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
27000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

4

Dry Traction

Terry

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/09/2021

This product provides great bang for your buck and is a pleasure to ride.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

3

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Jason

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/15/2021

I'm pleased with these tires as they perform well and have a nice appearance. However, I'm planning to switch to my snow tires when the snow starts to fall since these tires don't seem like they would do well in winter conditions.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
23000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Pete

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/02/2022

Absolutely go for these tires, they are totally worth it! I remember hearing from someone named John that these tires were excellent and he was spot on.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
12000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Andrew

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/15/2021

This tire is great overall, but be cautious when driving in temperatures below 45 degrees. The tires become stiff and hard to predict in temperatures under 50 degrees. They are perfect for summer, but not ideal for colder weather.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
4000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

3

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Pete

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/02/2022

Absolutely go for these tires, they are totally worth it! I remember hearing from someone named John that these tires were excellent and he was spot on.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
12000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Andrew

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/15/2021

This tire is great overall, but be cautious when driving in temperatures below 45 degrees. The tires become stiff and hard to predict in temperatures under 50 degrees. They are perfect for summer, but not ideal for colder weather.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
4000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Terry

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/09/2021

This product provides great bang for your buck and is a pleasure to ride.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Juan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/27/2021

I'm really happy with these tires - they're awesome quality and have a really cool look to them.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
27000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Jason

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/15/2021

I'm pleased with these tires as they perform well and have a nice appearance. However, I'm planning to switch to my snow tires when the snow starts to fall since these tires don't seem like they would do well in winter conditions.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
23000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

General G-Max RS

4 Out Of 35

in High performance summer tires

1572739

Miles Reported

318

User Reviews

Full review

This is a review of the General G Max RS, a high-performance summer passenger tire designed for both track racing and competitions. 

We have researched numerous online reviews to see how this tire stacks up against the competition in the same category. Furthermore, we have analyzed tests and to see how this tire competes against other summer performance tires.

Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed.

To fully understand why we came to these conclusions, we need to look at the user reviews on Mavis Tire and Tire Rack to see how this tire stacks up in terms of performance, handling, noise and comfort, price, and durability.

What Is This Tire For?

The General G Max RS tire is specifically designed for summer use. Although it can be used in both wet and dry conditions, this tire is a high-performance tire that ranks highly, especially in terms of dry traction and steering responsiveness. According to Mavis Tire, ‘Dry Traction’ ranked as an 8.1 out of 10, and ‘Steering Responsiveness’ earned an 8.1 out of 10.

This tire provides foolproof steering, steady handling, cornering traction, and long-term longevity and durability for use over multiple seasons. Featuring a different construction of notches and ribs to help the water clear the tires, this summer performance tire can be used in both wet and dry road conditions.

Furthermore, this tire uses the SmartMonitor Technology, enhancing the lifespan of the tire, so users continue purchasing this option for many years to come. For drivers who want a performance tire that will last multiple seasons, the General G Max RS tire is a smart option — plus, drivers won’t have to spend a fortune on this option, with the price falling right in the average of summer performance tires on the market today.

Performance

Based on user reviews on Tire Rack, this tire ranks extremely highly in the Wet Performance and Dry Performance categories. Users state this tire has great hydroplaning resistance, ample wet traction during slippery conditions, a quick steering response for cornering and handling, and plenty of dry traction for use in summer conditions.

Users state they ‘handled really well on the dry and wet pavement,’ showing how this tire is versatile and usable all year round in most climates.

Handling

Users on Tire Rack gave this tire above 8.5 rankings in all categories as far as handling is concerned. Since this tire has reliable and trustworthy hydroplaning resistance and cornering, drivers can take turns at fast speeds without worrying about slipping and losing traction on the asphalt.

Some performance tests have been conducted to see how this tire handles on race tracks. The dry grip of the G Max RS was consistent during high speeds and only experienced a very minimal loss of grip over time. Furthermore, tests have shown that the tire reacts quickly and impressively to steering input, with drivers confident that the steering responsiveness is top-notch.

Lastly, handling in wet conditions shows how this tire is versatile for various weather conditions. Although tires have a lack of grip in snowy and icy conditions, this summer tire can still hold its own against all-season tires during the warm weather and the shoulder seasons.

Noise and Comfort

User reviews gave this tire a favorable 8.5 out of 10 for Comfort Performance, taking into account the noise and the ride quality that this tire provides. In addition, the user reviews on Mavis Tire give these tires a 7.5 or Ride Comfort and a 7.3 for Noise Level. As the tire changes over time, the comet and noise level of the tire can decrease.
This shows why taking care of your tire and driving in the right conditions is essential to long-lasting use and a comfortable ride for passengers and the driver.

Durability

Users on Tire Rack have given this tire a favorable ranking of 8.4 out of 10 for Treadwear Performance, taking into account the lifespan of the tire, the durability, and the type of terrain you can drive on with this tire.

User reviews state this tire outlasted other more expensive options on the market.

Lastly, users on Mavis Tire gave this tire a 6.9 out of 10 for Treadwear. Although this contradicts the user reviews on Tire Rack, this can be due to a few options. Some drivers may take their summer permanence tires out on non-asphalt roads, which may cause the durability of the tire to decrease quicker than driving solely on asphalt roads.

Furthermore, drivers who use the General G Max RS tire in unsuitable weather, such as frequently on snow and ice, may see the tires deteriorate quicker than using solely for summer and wet weather use.

Price

The average price of the General G Max RS tire is between $114 and $274. The exact price depends on the vehicle that you need the tires for and the size of the tire, with the bigger tires costing more than the smaller options. In general, the average price of summer performance tires ranges $153-$198. Therefore, the price of this tire is a bit higher for bigger vehicles but falls within the normal range for most passenger cars.

Recommendations and Conclusions

Recommendations

We would recommend the General G Max RS tire for those who need to drive in summer conditions and want a high-performance, durable option. For both wet and dry conditions, this tire provides ample traction, handling, and responsiveness for increased driver confidence. However, for those who need to use a tire for all-year-round use, this summer-performance tire is not suitable for use in snow or icy weather.

For a tire that falls within the average price range for summer performance tires, this can be a good option for drivers who are on the prowl for something new. The General G Max RS tire has high rankings in terms of performance, making it a smart choice for track day and racing use.

Conclusions

Overall, we believe this tire is a good middle-of-the-road option for those who want a summer-performance tire that can provide ample handling and traction in warm weather. Although there are cheaper options on the market and tires with more consistent reviews in terms of comfort and durability, the General G Max RS tire consistently ranks highly in terms of dry traction, wet traction, responsiveness, and handling.

References:

General G-Max RS – User Reviews on Tire Rack

General G-Max RS – User Reviews on Mavis Tire

Pete

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

06/02/2022

Absolutely go for these tires, they are totally worth it! I remember hearing from someone named John that these tires were excellent and he was spot on.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
12000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Andrew

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

11/15/2021

This tire is great overall, but be cautious when driving in temperatures below 45 degrees. The tires become stiff and hard to predict in temperatures under 50 degrees. They are perfect for summer, but not ideal for colder weather.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
4000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Terry

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

09/09/2021

This product provides great bang for your buck and is a pleasure to ride.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
25000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

4

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Juan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/27/2021

I'm really happy with these tires - they're awesome quality and have a really cool look to them.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
27000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Jason

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/15/2021

I'm pleased with these tires as they perform well and have a nice appearance. However, I'm planning to switch to my snow tires when the snow starts to fall since these tires don't seem like they would do well in winter conditions.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
23000

5

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.