Firestone Transforce HT2 Review

18 User Reviews

Leave review

51 Out Of 114

in All-season tires

267923

Miles Reported

18

User Reviews

Review summary

Based on our research, the Firestone Transforce HT2 is a middle-tier all-season tire for commercial vans, SUVs, and trucks that clock a lot of highway miles. It’s dependable in most weather conditions, though wet grass can be a challenge. Deep, dense snow is sometimes a struggle, but not impossible for these tires.

The Firestone Transforce HT2 is a good tire for commercial vehicles that haul trailers and equipment. It’s a reasonably priced tire for the class, but the Transforce HT2 could benefit from better tread life.

Pros

  • Smooth highway ride
  • Impressive stability, even with heavy loads
  • Good traction in wet and dry road conditions
  • Decently quiet for a highway tire

Cons

  • Could do better on wet
  • Would like to see better tread life for a commercial tire

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
81.11%
WET TRACTION
74.50%
Noise
86.78%
COMFORT
79.06%
TREAD LIFE
82.06%
Snow Traction
47.72%
Ice Traction
45.83%

18

reviews

267923

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

Firestone Transforce HT2

Michelin CrossClimate 2

Continental TerrainContact H/T

Michelin Defender LTX M/S

Michelin Agilis CrossClimate

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 7.69.49.09.39.1
Wet Traction 6.99.48.99.28.9
Noise 8.18.78.99.18.6
comfort 7.58.98.89.28.7
Tread Life 7.79.18.89.18.6
Snow traction 4.38.98.18.48.2
Ice traction 4.18.57.87.97.8
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Eric

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/31/2021

I chose these tires because of my past positive experience with Firestone and the fact that I needed tires with a higher load rating. These tires can take up to 80 lbs of air pressure, but I only use 50. Although the ride is a bit firm, it's acceptable, and when towing, the extra weight in the back smooths out considerably compared to the original tires. Even in heavy rain, these tires offer great traction on both concrete and asphalt. Instead of opting for the XL option, I saved money by choosing E-rated tires with more ply rating. I anticipate getting around 50-55k miles out of these tires as they still had 92% tread depth after 12k miles of use. Since we only have about 11.5 months of dry weather in the Texas Panhandle, I'm not concerned about towing in the snow.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Eric

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/31/2021

I chose these tires because of my past positive experience with Firestone and the fact that I needed tires with a higher load rating. These tires can take up to 80 lbs of air pressure, but I only use 50. Although the ride is a bit firm, it's acceptable, and when towing, the extra weight in the back smooths out considerably compared to the original tires. Even in heavy rain, these tires offer great traction on both concrete and asphalt. Instead of opting for the XL option, I saved money by choosing E-rated tires with more ply rating. I anticipate getting around 50-55k miles out of these tires as they still had 92% tread depth after 12k miles of use. Since we only have about 11.5 months of dry weather in the Texas Panhandle, I'm not concerned about towing in the snow.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Firestone Transforce HT2

51 Out Of 114

in All-season tires

267923

Miles Reported

18

User Reviews

Full review

This is a review of Firestone Transforce HT2 tires to help you decide if they are the right option for your vehicle.

We researched everything from Firestone’s specifications to how the Transforce HT2s performed on the road. Then, we took our findings and compared them with customer reviews to provide you with a comprehensive report on how the tires perform.

Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed.

Are you curious about specifics and how we reached our conclusions? Read on to take a deep dive into specs, tests, and more. To make things easier, we divided the article into three sections:

  • Overview
  • Performance Breakdown
  • Recommendations and Conclusions 

If you’re ready to learn everything you need to know about Firestone Transforce HT2 tires, let’s take a ride!  

Overview of Firestone Transforce HT2 Tires

Firestone’s Transforce HT2 tire is meant for light to medium trucks, SUVs, and vans that see a lot of highway miles. It’s an all-weather tire with decent traction and is designed to provide a comfortable ride. 

This tire is a mid-level option in terms of price and wear for commercial vehicles that carry heavy loads year-round. 

The Transforce HT2 serves as an update on the Firestone HT. The HT2 aims to correct the shortcomings, especially with better traction. 

Firestone notes that the Transforce HT2 provides dependable traction in wet conditions and can reduce the chances of hydroplaning compared to its predecessor.

Firestone Transforce HT2 Performance Breakdown

Let’s break down the separate components we researched and used to evaluate the Transforce HT2. We focused on several categories to provide a comprehensive review.

Performance 

The Transforce HT2 offers decent overall performance and seems to be a genuine upgrade of the HT. Though there hasn’t been a road test for this tire, there is plenty of user feedback to provide a clear picture of what to expect. 

Most users applaud the performance for long hauls on the highway, especially when towing a load. Some of the less than satisfied users seem to have issues with the lack of off-roading capabilities, even though these tires are clearly marked and advertised for highway use.

Additionally, Firestone notes that one of the top qualities of this tire is the fuel efficiency, which seems to be supported by user data. Given that the Transforce HT2 is a highway tire, that’s not surprising.

The one overall complaint is that the Transforce HT2s don’t last as long as people would like, but that doesn’t seem to be too much of a setback. Several users report repurchasing the same style several times.

Wet

Firestone designed the Transforce HT2 as an improvement on the HTs, primarily with regard to wet road performance. The tread pattern is symmetrical and features four grooves to direct water away for better traction. 

This design was intentional as a way to reduce a driver’s risk of hydroplaning without creating a rougher ride on dry roads. 

Of note, these tires were not designed for off-roading, and that includes grass. A few users noted that the wet traction abilities do not translate to saturated lawns.

Dry

One of the primary selling points for this tire that keeps it popular is the consistent performance on wet or dry roads.

Firestone designed the Transforce HT2s to handle smoothly and comfortably regardless, so it’s no surprise that the dry performance ratings are high across the board.

Snow

Snowy roads are more challenging than rain because the accumulation can vary. The Transforce HT2s should handle light snow much like a rainy highway route. 

However, when the snow gets dense or packed with ice, all bets are off. 

Firestone notes that the Transforce HT2 should perform well in ice and snow. However, the company also rates ice and snow performance lower than dry and wet performance for this tire.

Handling

Given that these tires are meant for highway driving and hauling, it should be no surprise that they handle well. 

They are reinforced in all the right places and feature notched shoulders for smooth turns in most conditions.

Noise and comfort

Firestone built in their noise-reduction technology to limit road noise, even on the highway. 

Most users agree that the Transforce HT2 provides a quiet comfortable ride, provided you stick to the highway and avoid off-roading.

Durability

Durability seems to be the main point of contention with these tires. Several users note that the tread life leaves something to be desired, but some indicate that they don’t mind the shorter life span. 

Expect to get 40,000 to 50,000 miles out of these tires, as long as you regularly rotate them.

Of note, Firestone offers a 90-day “buy and try” warranty on the tires. However, there is no limited mileage warranty. 

Price

The price is right in terms of quality and durability. It’s not a high-end tire, so it doesn’t come with a lofty price tag. 

That said, with regular rotations and typical highway use, most drivers should get their money’s worth in the Transforce HT2. 

Recommendations & Conclusions

That’s a lot of information to process, but we’ll sum it up nice and neat!

Recommendations

The Firestone Transforce HT2 is one of the most popular highway tires for commercial vehicles. It scores well with customers in terms of comfort and noise reduction, which bodes well for longer hauls. 

A few user complaints seem to relate to using the tires incorrectly, primarily off-roading. For those users who stick to highway driving, the Transforce HT2 performs well in most weather conditions making them a dependable year-round tire.

Firestone Transforce HT2 falls around the middle of the class in price because the tread life isn’t as good as expected. However, that doesn’t mean the tire isn’t worth the money because it delivers impressive performance when used properly.

Conclusions

Based on the research, data, and user feedback detailed in this Firestone Transforce HT2 review, these tires are ideal for light to medium commercial vehicles dedicated to highway driving. 

There are only two drawbacks with these tires, and one is a matter of opinion. First, they won’t fare as well with mud, wet grass, or deep, dense snow. Second, the tread life might not be as long as some of the others in the class.

The Transforce HT2s feature impressive tread systems that cut through water to reduce the risk of hydroplaning. They offer a quiet, comfortable ride, even when towing a load, which is especially nice for long hauls. The price is just right for a commercial vehicle, especially if you can snag a promotion.

References 

Firestone Transforce HT2 – User reviews | TireRack.com

Firestone Transforce HT2 – User reviews | Firestone.com

Firestone Transforce HT2 – Customer Reviews | SimpleTire.com

Firestone Transforce HT2 – Customer Ratings | MavisDiscountTire.com

Eric

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

08/31/2021

I chose these tires because of my past positive experience with Firestone and the fact that I needed tires with a higher load rating. These tires can take up to 80 lbs of air pressure, but I only use 50. Although the ride is a bit firm, it's acceptable, and when towing, the extra weight in the back smooths out considerably compared to the original tires. Even in heavy rain, these tires offer great traction on both concrete and asphalt. Instead of opting for the XL option, I saved money by choosing E-rated tires with more ply rating. I anticipate getting around 50-55k miles out of these tires as they still had 92% tread depth after 12k miles of use. Since we only have about 11.5 months of dry weather in the Texas Panhandle, I'm not concerned about towing in the snow.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
17000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.