Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus Review

329 User Reviews

Leave review

5 Out Of 34

in All-season SUV tires

7327556

Miles Reported

329

User Reviews

Review summary

The Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is a premium all-season touring tire that was designed for SUVs and Crossovers (CUV) and focuses on ride quality, low road noise, and long tread life. Overall, there are few complaints with this tire, although snow traction could be better. Other than that, the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is backed by an excellent 80,000-mile warranty and is a good value for the money.

Pros

  • Smooth and quiet ride
  • Excellent tread life warranty
  • Good dry and wet weather performance
  • Solid construction

Cons

  • Can get pricey
  • Snow and off-road performance could be better

Survey stats

DRY TRACTION
92.00%
WET TRACTION
87.94%
Noise
85.11%
COMFORT
85.91%
TREAD LIFE
87.20%

329

reviews

7327556

Miles Reported

Alternatives

 

Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus

Yokohama Geolandar X-CV

Continental CrossContact LX25

Yokohama Geolandar CV G058

Michelin CrossClimate SUV

Overall Rating
Dry Traction 9.18.49.28.49.4
Wet Traction 8.78.39.08.39.4
Noise 8.48.38.77.98.5
comfort 8.58.58.98.08.8
Tread Life 8.68.59.08.58.6
Braking 0.00.00.00.00.0
Sharpness 0.00.00.00.00.0
Durability 0.00.00.00.00.0
Feel 0.00.00.00.00.0
Show more

User Reviews

Chuck

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/09/2022

These tires appear to be quite good.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
16000

3

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Ken

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/24/2022

I bought these tires on a recommendation from a friend and I must say, they are a great value for the price. I am satisfied with my purchase and would advise others to give them a try.

Overall Rating
4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
11000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

3

Wet traction

4

Dry Traction

Athan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

04/03/2022

I strongly suggest these tires for extended distances.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
13000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

4

Dry Traction

Athan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/29/2022

I strongly recommend it.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Stephen

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/05/2022

I really enjoy going to Discount Tires. They are always welcoming, supportive, and offer the most competitive prices.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
35000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Wet traction

5

Dry Traction

Chuck

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/09/2022

These tires appear to be quite good.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
16000

3

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Ken

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/24/2022

I bought these tires on a recommendation from a friend and I must say, they are a great value for the price. I am satisfied with my purchase and would advise others to give them a try.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
11000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Athan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

04/03/2022

I strongly suggest these tires for extended distances.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
13000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Athan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/29/2022

I strongly recommend it.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Stephen

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/05/2022

I really enjoy going to Discount Tires. They are always welcoming, supportive, and offer the most competitive prices.

Driving Condition
N/A
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
35000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus

5 Out Of 34

in All-season SUV tires

7327556

Miles Reported

329

User Reviews

Full review

We have searched the internet and analyzed countless tire reviews in order to give you an unbiased opinion on the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus to help you decide if it is the right tire for your vehicle. 

Don’t have time to read everything? Here’s a quick summary of our review as well as pros & cons listed.

If you need tires for your SUV or Crossover, there are plenty of options for all budgets. Here we will look at the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus and see how it fares in key attributes such as road noise, tread life, and wet and dry performance to see how it stacks up to the competition. 

  • Overview 
  • Performance Break Down
  • Recommendations & Conclusions

If you are reading this article, chances are you are in the market for a set of tires, so let’s get into it and see if the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is the right tire for your vehicle.

Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus Overview 

When it comes to tires, Bridgestone, the world’s largest tire manufacturer, hardly needs any introduction, and they often fight it out with Michelin for the top stop in the performance and touring categories. As with most tire manufacturers, Bridgestone offers an extensive lineup, with the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus being billed as their premium on-road SUV/CUV touring tire. 

Narrowing that down further, it is marketed towards drivers who spend most of their time on paved surfaces and prefer a long-lasting, quiet, and smooth-riding tire. Moreover, as a P-metric tire, it was not intended for heavy-duty and off-road use. As such, we will look at (and analyze) the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus for its intended use and compare it to tires with similar specifications.  

With that said, the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus has an 800 UTQG tread rating and comes with an 80,000-mile warranty (55,000 for W-rated tires), both of which are excellent for an all-season SUV/CUV tire. It is also considered a low-resistance tire which may sound like a gimmick, but less friction translates to small savings at the fuel pump. While it may not be noticeable, it adds up over time. Secondly, 5% of the materials used in the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus are recycled, which makes a difference when taking into account that millions of tires get replaced every year.

Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus Performance Break Down

Performance

While the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus was designed for street use, it is hardly a performance tire. Likewise, it is only offered in a T or H rating for most applications, although V and W-rated versions are available in some sizes. However, the same can be said for many of its competitors, and most of them have similar ratings. Not to mention, it was intended for vehicles such as the Honda Pilot and Cadillac Escalade, which are not sporty by any means. 

With that said, do not expect sports car-level performance with Dueler H/L Alenza Plus. What it will do is deliver predictable handling on paved surfaces, and that is what you should expect from an all-season touring tire.

Wet

The Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus provides confident and predictable handling on wet roads. This is helped along by the four wide grooves, which do an excellent job of channeling water away from the road surface and reducing the risk of hydroplaning. Attesting to this are the high scores from users on Tirerack.com, and it is one of the highest-rated tires in this regard. With that said, if you drive in the rain frequently and prioritize safety, few tires can rival the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus. 

Dry

Many reviewers consider dry road conditions to be the strength of the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus. In fact, it is one of the highest-rated touring tires on Tirerack.com, with users giving it a 9.1 out of 10.

Considering that your tires are the only portion of your vehicle in contact with the road, traction, stability, and steering response are often important buying decisions for many drivers. In other words, this can be the difference between being involved in a collision or avoiding it. We can say that safety was a priority for the engineers at Bridgestone.

Snow

While the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is an all-season tire designed for SUVs/CUVs, it is not a snow tire. Likewise, it was not intended to drive in anything beyond a few inches of snow or slush, and traction is average. Even though some of its rivals fared better in said conditions, none of them will replace a set of dedicated snow tires.  

With that said, it is something to take into account if you live in a northern climate with frequent heavy snowfall. If you prefer to avoid the hassle (and expense) of swapping out your tires twice a year, there are some better options out there, although they will not match the Dueler’s smooth ride and long tread life.

Braking Distance

Even though we did not find any tests that paired the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus with other tires, we feel confident in saying that the braking distance is better than average based on the wet and dry weather performance. As noted above, this tire is highly rated in both categories, and we see no reason to disagree with that assessment.

Handling

When looking at the handling attributes of a tire, much of it is determined by the performance rating and type of vehicle. As mentioned earlier, the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus comes with a T or H rating in most sizes, which means it was not intended for spirited driving.

However, when taking that into consideration, traction is better than average, and it lives up to the premium label. Likewise, many users have reported they are satisfied with the handling characteristics, and like the above, we did not find anything that would suggest otherwise. 

Noise and comfort

For many drivers, especially those with luxury vehicles, low road-noise, and ride comfort are important considerations when buying a new set of tires. We can say Bridgestone got it right, and the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is one of the quietest riding tires you can purchase for your SUV/CUV.

At the same time, ride comfort was not overlooked, and if you live in an area with rough roads, you will appreciate how the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus soaks up potholes and other imperfections. If you value low road noise and a smooth ride, this is a tire that will not disappoint. 

Durability

Bridgestone hit a home run for durability, and the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus has an 80,000-mile tread warranty (55,000 for W-rated tires). This is one of the longest in the industry, especially when considering it was designed for SUVs/CUVs. Not to mention, Bridgestone backs it up with a 90-day ride guarantee.

With that said, several factors affect tire wear, such as the type of vehicle, how it is driven, and keeping up with routine vehicle and tire maintenance. However, many users have reported getting 60,000 to 80,000 miles out of their Dueler Alenzas, which is excellent considering these vehicles tend to wear tires out faster.

Price & Value

Like many premium products, the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is priced at the higher end, although it is not the most expensive all-season touring tire. At the same time, it is quiet, has a smooth ride, has good wet and dry traction, and has excellent tread life. It may be costlier than some, but if you plan on keeping your vehicle for a few years, the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is money well spent.

Competition

Here’s the top competitors to the Bridgestone Dueler Alenza H/L Plus:

  • Michelin Premier LTX
  • Cooper Endeavor Plus
  • Continental CrossContact LX25 

Recommendations & Conclusions 

Recommendations

When it comes to SUV/CUV tires, there are plenty of choices from cheap to high-end and on-road to off-road. While the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is definitely at the higher end for all-season touring tires, it backs that up with long tread life, ride comfort, and good all-around performance. We can say that Bridgestone hit the nail on the head with this one, and even though the Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is beginning to show its age, it is still one of the best tires you can buy regarding the qualities mentioned above. 

The only real complaint has to do with snow and off-road performance. However, that is not necessarily a flaw, and like most all-season touring tires, it was intended for little more than light snow, slush, and minor off-road use. For anything beyond that, there are better choices out there. 

Conclusions

For an SUV/CUV that spends most of its time on paved surfaces, the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus is difficult to beat. It comes with an excellent 80,000-mile warranty and delivers a smooth and quiet ride that many drivers look for in a tire. Even though snow and off-road grip could be improved, the Bridgestone Dueler H/L Alenza Plus does everything it was designed to do and does it better than most. 

If we had to sum up Bridgestone’s premium offering, we would say it delivers value for the money. Few can match the ride quality and tread life, and you could make a fair argument this is the best all-season touring tire you can buy for your SUV or Crossover.

Chuck

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

07/09/2022

These tires appear to be quite good.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
16000

3

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Ken

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

05/24/2022

I bought these tires on a recommendation from a friend and I must say, they are a great value for the price. I am satisfied with my purchase and would advise others to give them a try.

Overall Rating
4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
11000

4

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Athan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

04/03/2022

I strongly suggest these tires for extended distances.

Overall Rating
4.4
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
13000

5

Ride Comfort

4

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

4

Dry Traction

Athan

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

03/29/2022

I strongly recommend it.

Overall Rating
4.8
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
8000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Stephen

Yes I would purchase this tire again.

01/05/2022

I really enjoy going to Discount Tires. They are always welcoming, supportive, and offer the most competitive prices.

Overall Rating
4.6
Driving Style
N/A
Miles Driven On Tire
35000

4

Ride Comfort

5

Ride Noise

5

Tread Life

5

Dry Traction

Rankings are generated based on of customer reviews & real-life tire tests. We don't accept free products from anyone or any company – we review only products we believe are best for the users. By clicking on products above, we may receive a commission at no cost to you.